Review: Heavy Music Awards Launch Event


Earlier this week I was lucky enough to be invited to attend the Heavy Music Awards Launch Event at Manchester’s Gorilla. Three of the UK’s hottest up-and-coming band performed live on stage to celebrate the opening of the public votes.

First up, Aberdeen’s Cold Years took to the stage to warm the crowd up with a bunch of old and new material, including their latest single “Endless”.

Next up Liverpool’s Loathe took to the stage, these lads know how to deliver in every sense, whether that’s visually or musically, they’ve got it. The stage was set in almost darkness, except for a glimpse of red lighting, with two televisions either side of the stage playing a mix of imagery and frontman Kadeem France in close-up’s. Loathe performed an astonishing set and without a doubt got Manchester moving.

The most anticipated time of the night had arrived… results time! A video presentation played showing a number of musicians, partners and sponsors announcing the finalists for each category. Check out the finalists below.

Best Album
Code Orange – Forever (Roadrunner Records – Produced by Kurt Ballou & Will Yip)
Converge – The Dusk In Us (Epitaph Records / Deathwish Inc – Produced by Kurt Ballou)
Creeper – Eternity, In Your Arms (Roadrunner Records – Produced by Neil D. Kennedy)
Enter Shikari – The Spark (Ambush Reality – Produced by David Kosten & Rou Reynolds)
Mastodon – Emperor Of Sand (Reprise Records – Produced by Brendan O’Brien)
The Menzingers – After The Party (Epitaph Records – Produced by Will Yip)
While She Sleeps – You Are We (Independent – Produced by While She Sleeps)

Best UK Band
Arcane Roots (Easy Life)
Architects (Epitaph Records)
Creeper (Roadrunner Records)
Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality)
Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes (International Death Cult)
Marmozets (Roadrunner Records)
While She Sleeps (Independent)

Best International Band
Code Orange (Roadrunner Records)
Converge (Epitaph Records)
Mastodon (Reprise Records)
The Menzingers (Epitaph Records)
Metallica (Blackened Recordings)
Parkway Drive (Epitaph Records)
Trivium (Roadrunner Records)

Best Live Band Presented by Jackson Guitars
Architects (Epitaph Records)
Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality)
Every Time I Die (Epitaph Records)
Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes (International Death Cult)
Ghost (Loma Vista Recordings)
Gojira (Roadrunner Records)
While She Sleeps (Independent)

Best UK Breakthrough Band
Bad Sign (Basick Records)
Conjurer (Holy Roar Records)
Employed To Serve (Holy Roar Records)
Holding Absence (Sharptone Records)
Loathe (Sharptone Records)
Milk Teeth (Roadrunner Records)
Venom Prison (Prosthetic Records)

Best International Breakthrough Band
Brutus (Hassle Records)
Can’t Swim (Pure Noise Records)
Knocked Loose (Pure Noise Records)
Palaye Royale (Sumerian Records)
Sløtface (Propeller Recordings)
Stand Atlantic (Rude Records)
Waterparks (Equal Vision Records)

Best Album Artwork Presented by The Pit
Bell Witch – Mirror Reaper (Profound Lore Records – Artwork by Mariusz Lewandowski)
Converge – The Dusk In Us (Epitaph Records / Deathwish Inc – Artwork by Jacob Bannon)
Creeper – Eternity, In Your Arms (Roadrunner Records – Artwork by Nicky Barkla)
Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes – Modern Ruin (International Death Cult – Artwork by Dean Richardson / Studio Yuck)
Mastodon – Emperor of Sand (Reprise Records – Artwork by Donny Phillips)
Northlane – Mesmer (UNFD – Artwork by Jacques Duquette / Fvckrender)
Sikth – The Future In Whose Eyes? (Millennium Night – Artwork by Meats Meier)

Best Festival
2000trees Festival (United Kingdom)
Arc Tan Gent (United Kingdom)
Bloodstock Open Air (United Kingdom)
Download Festival (United Kingdom)
Hellfest Open Air (France)
Slam Dunk Festival (United Kingdom)
UK Tech Fest (United Kingdom)

Best Photographer
Corinne Cumming
Ben Gibson
Joshua Halling
Paul Harries
Tina Korhonen
Jennifer McCord
Ed Mason

Best Producer
Kurt Ballou
Romesh Dodangoda
Neil D Kennedy
Dan Lancaster
Brendan O’Brien
Will Putney
Will Yip

Image credit: Ticketmaster

Manchester’s alternative pop-punk band Milestones were the final act of the evening to perform. The group played a number of tracks from their debut album “Red Lights” which I believe did a great job of sending everyone home humming their catchy riffs and choruses (I know I did!).

Now it’s time for you to vote. The Heavy Music Awards will take place at KOKO in London on August 23, 2018, and the evening will be shown exclusively on Scuzz TV. Head over to here to place your vote for each category before the 27 June 2018. And guess what? All voting enters you into a draw to win tickets for the awards show in London. What’s to lose?

If you havn’t already, check out the Heavy Music Awards 2018 over at:

Featured image credit: NickNeuenhaus Photography


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here